Multicultural Communities Council of New South Wales

We all recall a few years back when the NSW Government commissioned Neville Roach to review the Ethnic Affairs Commission and other Ethnic Organisations.
We all also remember two of the major Roach’s recommendations: The first one to change the Name of the Ethnic Affairs Commission to the current Community Relations Commission (CRC) and the second recommendation was for another NGO to change its name to “Multicultural Communities Council” (MCC of NSW).
The first recommendation was achieved following a wide Community consultation by the Government but the second one had to wait until yesterday..
This idea had been on the slow burner for quite some time and yesterday it was indeed a very busy day commencing with an important gathering of Ethnic Community Leaders at Hurstville RSL Club which culminated, at long last, in the founding of the Multicultural Communities Council of New South Wales.
And to represent and advocate for CALD Communities in New South Wales the meeting elected the following Community representatives to lead the MCC of NSW as follows:
Chair: Dr Tony Pun, OAM
Deputy Chair: Prof Abd Malak, AM
Secretary-General: Raymond Arraj
Treasurer: Ajmer Gill
Vice Chairs: Tony Kabrovski, William Dawson and William Seung
Public Officer: Ajmer Gill

The elected MCC members form a core group representing CALD communities in NSW: Macedonian, Indian, Egyptian, Korean, Irish, Chinese, Sikh and Lebanese…with the anticipation of bringing in soon the Croatian, Vietnamese and emerging communities….



Post a Comment