Congratulations Bishop Antoine Tarabay Motion

Parliament of New South Wales
Motion moved by the Hon. SHAOQUETT MOSELMANE agreed to:
(1) That this House notes that:
(a) His Excellency Bishop Antoine-Tarabay was, on Friday 4 May 2018, made the first eastern
Catholic bishop ever to be elected to the permanent Committee of the Australian Catholic
Bishops Conference [ACBC];
(b) the ACBC works in the spirit of collegiality to bring national coordination to the general
mission of the Catholic Church in Australia; and
(c) the eastern Catholic churches form an integral part of the ACBC and their representation
includes the Maronites, the Ukrainian Catholics, Melkites, Chaldean, Syriac, Malabarese, and
other Catholic brethren.
That this House congratulates Bishop Tarabay on receiving this honour for all eastern Catholics and for
the value eastern Catholics bring to Australia.
That this House further notes and congratulates Archbishop Mark Coleridge of Brisbane as president of
the ACBC and Archbishop Anthony Fisher as vice-president.

The Hon. Shaoquett Moselmane MLC
Opposition Whip in the Legislative Council of NSW
Wednesday, 23 May 2018



Post a Comment